Skip to content

Memories Of Christmas Past

December 17, 2013
christmas tree

christmas tree (Photo credit: fsse8info)

Daily Prompt: Memories Of Holidays Past

What is your very favorite holiday? Recount the specific memory or memories that have made that holiday special to you.

CHRISTMAS is my favorite holiday by far. When I was little we always had a real christmas tree. I can remember the anticipation and excitement of going out in the woods with my siblings, Dad, and Gramps (Grandfather Karn) the Sunday before to find the perfect pine tree. The scent of freshly sawn wood and the crisp tang of the needles. The resinous sap oozing from the cut. Setting up the tree in the stand. Helping to hold it steady while it was wired into place and carefully pouring in the water to keep it alive. The fun of getting out the Christmas box filled with tinsel, lights, and ornaments. Arguing with my siblings over who got to put which ornament where. Wrapping presents: dealing with the paper, the tape, the ribbons, and the cats that wanted to “help” with the process.

Christmas Eve
Let the Festivities begin! It would start that afternoon. With eager anticipation, we would all pile into the car and drive the several miles to Grandma Clark’s house for snacks and presents. We usually stayed two hours. I enjoyed visiting with my four cousins, my two uncles, and my three aunts. My grandpa Clark died when I was seven. I remember him as a large man who smelled of beer and cigarettes and had a booming laugh. Grandma was very crafty. One year she made me a pretty vest crocheted in the “Granny Square” pattern. Another year she made me a blanket and matching pillow in autumn colors. She also made ceramic ornaments for us. I  have everything but the vest safely stored away.

In our family the tradition was to open presents that night after supper. It was always lots of fun and excitement. One year Dad decided to play a trick on Mom. He put the present (an anniversary ring)inside a series of ever larger boxes, the last being the one our new tv had come in. It took her over ten minutes of going through boxes and layer after layer of newspaper to finally find it. Her eyes teared up and she kissed my Dad. The cats loved it! They pounced on paper, ribbons, and into/out of the boxes. We didn’t have a lot of money so the majority of our presents were new clothes. We always got at least one present. Several stand out in my mind: the baby doll with the curly blond hair and blue eyes that opened and closed; The Lone Ranger And Silver poseable action figures; and the Lego’s Construction set. I still have all of them.

Christmas Day:
The fun started early in the morning, running downstairs to see what Santa had left for us. I also looked forward to the large Christmas Dinner we had at every year at Grandma Karn’s place. They lived just up the hill from us. we would bundle up in our winter clothing and walk up to their house. Crunching through the snow and breathing the crisp, cold air helped work up our appetites. There was quite a crowd: five uncles, five aunts, and twelve cousins, as well as my family of six. We would walk into the kitchen and be struck by the scents of all the delicious food cooking. Sometimes it would be turkey, others it was duck, goose, or roast beef. The counter tops would be covered with pots, pans, bowls, and trays filled with food. The dining room table would have every single leaf set in place. Card tables and chairs and tv trays would be scattered around for the children to use. You knew that you were an adult the day you were invited to neat at the grownup table. The buffet would groan with dishes of every kind: the meat, mashed potatoes, dressing, gravy, vegetables, cinnamon rolls, sweet breads, butter, jams and jellies, a relish tray, and cranberry jelly. We would drink gallons of milk, cider, and sherbet punch. There would be a bottle of “Hershey’s Chocolate Syrup” on the table for those who wanted chocolate milk. The desserts had their own special table: cakes, cookies, fudge, chocolate covered cherries and nuts, jellos, and puddings. On the table itself would be a candy bowl filled with treats. We would eat and then exchange gifts. Records of Christmas Carols would play. There would be teasing, jokes, stories, laughter, and talking. Several hours later we would gather our booty and trudge home in the night lit by flashlights. I’m sure that there were cross words and fights, but I remember them as occasions filled with joy. My Dad and all four of my Grandparents are dead now but they live on in my memories of Christmas. Emily

5 Comments
  1. Those are some great Christmas memories. I enjoyed them very much, thanks.

    Alan

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Surfer Rob’s “Bah, humbug” rationale | Rob's Surf Report
  2. Daily Prompt: Memories of Holidays Past | dena's good life
  3. That Christmas Morning | Edward Hotspur

Leave a comment