Skip to content

Dance Till You Drop

November 18, 2014

“If you step on my toes again, I’m going to POP you.” I snarled at Ralph. “I’m trying to do you a favor here! Tell me again, just why did you ask Sheila out to a club when you have two left feet?” I rolled my eyes in disbelief.

The tips of Ralph’s ears turned pink as he blushed. His curly red hair stuck up in all directions. His dark freckles stood out against his milk-pale skin. “Sheila loves to dance.” He mumbled. We shuffled around the floor while Sting crooned in the background.
“On and on the rain will fall,
Like tears from a star,
On and on the rain will say,
How FRAGILE we are how fragile we are…”

“If you breathe one word about this to anybody!” I said threateningly. Blowing my black bangs away from my eyes as Ralph swung me about energetically, almost slamming me into the wall. “Watch where we’re going you moron!” I snapped.

“Sorry!” He gasped. “I promise that I won’t tell.” Ralph swore as sweat rolled down his face.

The disc changer worked its magic. The beat picked up and Savage Garden began belting out AFFIRMATION.
“I believe the sun should never set upon an argument,
I believe we place our happiness in other people’s hands,
I believe that junk food tastes so good because it’s so bad for you,
I believe your parents did the best job they knew how to do,
I believe that beauty magazines promote low esteem,
I believe…”

We spun in a circle; Ralph clumsily banged his elbow into my chest. “You are so going to owe me for this,” I hissed, “I wouldn’t do this for just anyone you know; I’m going to have bruises all over.”

The music changed again.
LITHIUM~ don’t want to lock me up inside,

Lithium~ don’t want to forget,
How it feels without,
Lithium~ I want to stay in love,
With my sorrow,
Oh but God I want to let it go…”

Evanescence wailed.

“You’re a true pal.” Ralph panted.

Another switch.
“When you were standing in the wake of devastation,
When you were waiting on the edge of the unknown,
And with the cataclysm raining down,
Insides crying ‘Save me now’,
You were there impossibly alone,
Do you feel cold and lost in desperation,
Failure’s all you’ve known,
Remember all the sadness and frustration,
And let it go, l
Let it go..”

Linkin Park thundered the lyrics to IRIDESCENT.

Ralph jerked and twitched like a strung out junkie.

“All right, that’s enough for today.” I announced.

“Thank God that’s over!” Ralph collapsed red-faced, sopping wet and gasping.

I wiped the sweat from my face and plucked at the neck of my damp tee shirt. “I’m going to take a shower and change clothes; I suggest you do the same thing.”

“That’s a great idea Charley.” He said pushing himself up and stumbling for the Men’s locker room while I entered the door of the Women’s.

Emily

***********************************************************************************************
499 Words in response to Finish That Thought #2-20, Special Challenge: Include at least three (3) one-word song titles. Highlight them so he can find them. eg, make them ALL CAPS or bold.
http://alissaleonard.blogspot.com/2014/11/finish-that-thought-2-20.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+MusingsOfAlissaLeonard+%28Musings+of+Alissa+Leonard%29

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment