Skip to content

Barbecue Day

May 27, 2013
Beef and Corn on a Charcoal BBQ grill

Beef and Corn on a Charcoal BBQ grill (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

It’s Memorial Day and like thousands of other Americans, I fired up my barbecue grill. It’s not as windy and the temperature was in the mid-sixties. I put on a long-sleeved shirt and enjoyed the sunshine. Am I glad that the freak snowstorm today missed me! Three feet of snow in May! The baked potatoes take the longest so I put them on first. I scrubbed them, pierced them with a fork, wrapped them in a foil jacket, and placed them on the grill. I marinated the steaks in a pineapple-teriyaki sauce overnight. They sizzled when I laid them down. I tried something new to me this time. I did corn on the cob. It came out well. I like the slightly nutty taste the grill gave the kernels. The baked potato was soft and fluffy. I topped it with a little salt, pepper and sour cream. I like my steaks well-done. I judged it to perfection, cooked all the way through, but still tender and juicy. I washed it down with a pitcher of Country Time Half Lemonade & Half Iced Tea. Then it was time to prepare dessert. Another new item for me, sliced pound cake brushed lightly with clarified butter. I topped it with grilled peach halves. The grill carmalized the natural sugars of the peaches. Delicious! Then the finale of any barbecue in my family. Toasted Marshmallows! I love their gooey stickiness inside the browned skin. Best of all, no pots or pans to wash. Just brush off the grate, dump the coals, and toss the used foil. Perfect! Emily

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment