Skip to content

Woodchucks And Birdsong

April 24, 2013
groundhog day!

groundhog day! (Photo credit: NapaneeGal)

An american robin (Turdus migratorius), taken ...

An american robin (Turdus migratorius), taken in Urbana, IL (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 Around 10:00 am today, Selleck started bouncing up and down on my bed. He was also making the chittering sound that means he sees a prey object. Interested I went to the window and looked out. A large woodchuck sat about five feet from the trailer, grazing on the new bulb sprouts and grass. It was only slightly smaller than Selleck, about 4 pounds. I told him that it was too big for him to catch, being a cat he ignored me. When I went to get the mail around 1:00pm I saw two more woodchucks eating in the neighbors yards. More birds have returned. They had already picked out their trees and bushes and were singing to mark their territorys and find mates. A number of robins were piping down the rain. Emily

From → Cats, Daily life, Nature

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment