Skip to content

Second Time Around

April 25, 2013
Cover of "Outlander" by Diana Gabaldon

Cover of “Outlander” by Diana Gabaldon

The Lord of the Rings film trilogy

The Lord of the Rings film trilogy (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Tell us about a book you can read again and again without getting bored – what is it that speaks to you?

This was a hard challenge for me. I have mentioned on my About page that I love books and am a speed reader. I read at least one book a day. In my opinion any book not worth reading a second time  does not belong in my personal library. I have a fair-sized collection. I considered the problem carefully. Which book have I read the most often? It came down to two books. I read them at least once a year. The first is J.R.R. Tolkein’s “The Lord Of The Rings”. The battle between good and evil, the steadfastness of a true friend, and the final triumph over evil, all are new and fresh every time I read it.

The second is Diana Gabaldon’s “Outlander”. A 1940’s era English woman goes through time to 1740’s Scotland. For those of you unfamiliar with Scottish History this is just before the Rebellion (the Scots against the English, the Scots lost). The Herione, Claire is bewildered by what has happened and must cope with a number of shocks. Including being almost raped by an ancestor of her modern husband. Viewed through Claire’s eyes we experience History and realise  the Changes in Customs and Mores which have occurred over 200 some years. Each time I reread it I find details that I had missed before. The Hero, Jaimie is also an intriguing and fascinating person. I highly recommend both books if you haven’t read them.
Emily

*****************************************************************************************
In response to Daily Prompt: Second Time Around
http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/04/25/daily-prompt-books/

Leave a Reply

