Skip to content

Real Estate Blues

October 21, 2014

It showed up on my porch at the most inopportune time. I had just finished showing the house to an interested young hip urban couple when it came steaming and whistling down the path. An enchanted fifty-gallon cloisonné teapot scampered up my steps, perched itself on my porch and perkily began to sing in an high-pitched off-key soprano. “I’m a little teapot, short and stout…

The couple paled slightly and gulped.

“Take no notice of that.” I said waving my hand dismissively at the teapot.”My neighbor, Doctor Von Brauch has his own lab and likes to tinker, sometimes his creations get away from him, but I assure you that they aren’t the least bit dangerous.”

I led the way to their car which they had parked at the curb.

Just then a hedgehog went trundling down the sidewalk. “Hi folks, how’s it going?” He said plodding on steadily.

They blinked after him in stupefaction.

“That’s my other neighbor Harvey.” I chirped brightly.

“But … but, he … he’s a hedgehog and he spoke.” the woman stammered.

“Yes he does speak, he’s completely harmless, and just think of all of the insects he eats daily.” I smiled brightly.

They had just gotten into their car when “Kaboom!” A sonic boom burst the stillness. A strong gust of wind rocked the car on its tires and a thick white contrail formed above the block.

“What was that?” The man demanded, while his wife cringed in the car beside him.

“Oh, that would be Mr. Flannery from across the road. He’s a real superhero, always rushing off to save someone in peril. He’s in charge of our local neighborhood watch in his spare time. We have a very low crime rate in this area.” I confided.

This final revelation was just too much for them, with a muttered utterance by the man of,  “We’ll get back to you, it’s a big step, we need to think about it some more.” He started their  economy car  and sped away.

I sighed sadly, realizing that thanks to my crazy neighbors I’d lost yet another potential sale. I cursed under my breath. I really, really hated living in Fantasyland Estates.

Emily

***************************************************************************************************
358 Words in response to Finish That Thought #2-16, Special Challenge: Use at least THREE of the following:
egret, contrail, butterfly net, hedgehog, teapot, petrichor, spiral

Used: teapot, hedgehog, contrail

http://alissaleonard.blogspot.com/2014/10/finish-that-thought-2-16.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+MusingsOfAlissaLeonard+%28Musings+of+Alissa+Leonard%29

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

