Skip to content

Stream-Of-Consciousness 2

September 15, 2014

                              

What to write? What to write! (Thinking. Thinking)

Okay, lets start with that old standby, the weather. It’s a little warmer today. The high is supposed to be 68 degrees. The sun is shining and the sky is a brilliant blue. The leaves are starting to change color. Little pops of scarlet, bronze, orange, rust, and yellow are peeking out from the sea of green foliage. A crispness is in the air, particularly at night. The New York State Wildflower, the Asters are blooming in a pale-blue profusion. The goldenrod has burst into bloom and the ragweed is doing its thing. I’m taking my medication, so it’s only a faint tickle in my nose this year instead of the misery of constant snuffling, drizzling, sneezing, and congestion that it usually causes.

My cat, Selleck is starting to prepare for winter. He is growing in a thicker coat of hair. He is also running around and jumping like crazy as the cooler temperatures have gotten him super charged. He acts more like a kitten than a sober 8 or 9 year-old.

The squirrels have been rampaging on my roof again. How such small creatures can make such a racket always fascinates me. I’m glad it’s been cold enough to close my windows at night, there’s been a skunk hanging around my bedroom the past few evenings. I’ve seen it and caught a faint odor wafting in. I’ve seen and heard a few small flocks of geese heading south, another sure sign of the impending change of season.

I bought a huge spaghetti squash at the farmer’s market the other week. It was the size of a small watermelon. It tasted good, but I gashed the middle finger of my left pretty  good cutting it open! I must have nicked a vein, it bled like crazy! I bandaged it up and it’s healing nicely, but I’ll have a new scar.

I’m switching around my clothes today, putting the tank tops and shorts away and getting out the sweat shirts and jeans. I also had to put a second blanket on the bed last night. It’s getting quite nippy!

I think it’s time to see about buying the ingredients for making chili and chicken with dumplings. Also maybe a nice, fresh apple pie? Yes! Definitely pie! And I’ll get some sharp cheddar cheese to go with it. Soon it’ll be Halloween, then Thanksgiving, then Christmas. Better get started on making presents or I won’t be done in time.

Halloween, mm. I think it’s time for cider and donuts. I’ve found a great new recipe for baked donuts that I’m going to try. A lot fewer calories than fried!

Emily

*****************************************************************************************************
In response to Writing 101: Unlock the Mind
To get started, let’s loosen up. Let’s unlock the mind. Today, take twenty minutes to free write. And don’t think about what you’ll write. Just write.
And for your first twist? Publish this stream-of-consciousness post on your blog.
http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_assignment/writing-101-free-write-one/

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

