Skip to content

Titanic (1997 film) Sank For Me

August 13, 2014

The film poster shows a man and a woman hugging over a picture of the Titanic's bow. In the background is a partly cloudy sky and at the top are the names of the two lead actors. The middle has the film's name and tagline, and the bottom contains a list of the director's previous works, as well as the film's credits, rating, and release date.

I had heard all the buzz about how great Titanic with Leonardo DiCaprio and Kate Winslet was so I rented a copy and watched it. I was hugely disappointed! It was just to cutesy and sickly sweet. I felt that the film focused too narrowly on the romance between Jack’s  and Rose’s characters making the tragedy of the ship sinking a mere backdrop to the story. I actually cheered at the end when Jack drowned! I can’t believe that people saw it numerous times. Once was enough for me!

Alt=Series title over a watery background

I have seen several other movies and miniseries that I prefer, foremost among them Titanic (2012 miniseries). This is a better balanced view of the sinking following a number of various characters from different levels of the society of the day. It is also as accuratly done as modern reconstruction methods allow. I thoroughly enjoyed it. I liked it so much that I got the DVD.

Emily
***************************************************************************************************************
In response to Daily Prompt: Matters of Taste
When was the last time a movie, a book, or a television show left you cold despite all your friends (and/or all the critics) raving about it? What was it that made you go against the critical consensus?
http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/matters-of-taste/

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Titanic_(1997_film)
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Titanic_(2012_TV_miniseries)

5 Comments
  1. It’s not meant to be a documentary!!

  2. mbjennings permalink

    I couldn’t stand Titanic. My favorite bit was the effects-ladened sinking.

  3. It WAS meant to be a love story against a backdrop…. to each his/her own of course…respect ur dislike…

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Daily Prompt: Matters of Taste – ADULT SITUATIONS | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  2. Divergent Series . . . Better Not! | TyroCharm

Leave a Reply

