Skip to content

The Scent of Summer

June 25, 2014

Landscape with hayfield and storm clouds Stock Photo - 3064933

The Scent Of Summer
“Tis the season,
For hacking and wheezing,
Oh, that nasty grass pollen everywhere,
Floating gently through the air,
Makes for hard breathing!

For me the scent of summer means new-mown hay. I grew up on a dairy farm where we grew most of our own fodder. We always had corn, grass, and oats, thus producing silage, grain, hay, and straw for the cows. The first crop of grass would be tall enough and ripe enough to be harvested at just about this time of year. The meager aroma of a  short-cropped  lawnis nothing compared to the lush, heady  bounty of an acre or more of  freshly mown field. It is a rich, ripe, greenness.

There was one downside however. I’m allergic to grass pollen. I always had a bandanna in my pocket to blot my watering eyes and wipe my drizzling nose. I’d gasp and wheeze all day long. I guess that’s why the hay scent made such a deep impression on me. Thank God for modern emergency inhalers! I carry mine on my person all summer long.

Emily
***************************************************************************************************
In response to Daily Prompt: Seasonal Scents
S’mores, salty ocean breezes, veggie burgers on the grill, sweaty people on the bus – what’s the smell you associate the most with summer?
http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/seasonal-scents/

Leave a Reply

