Skip to content

Stream-Of-Consciousness

June 2, 2014
Writing 101

Writing 101

To get started, let’s loosen up. Let’s unlock the mind. Today, take twenty minutes to free write. And don’t think about what you’ll write. Just write. And for your first twist? Publish this steam-of-consciousness post on your blog.

Okay, here goes. I haven’t done this since a college writing class over thirty years ago. Gak! Has it really been so long? My how time flies when you’re involved with other things! My cat, Selleck is “helping” me with this post. He’s sitting on my lap, facing the computer. Whenever one of my fingers hits a key on his side of the board he taps it with his right paw. So far he’s being nice about it and not using his claws! I have had to edit several typos however. Good, he’s tired of the game now. He’s curled up into a ball and taking a nap. Whew!

It’s a nice spring day. Current temperature a balmy seventy-five degrees. The sun is shining and there’s a light breeze. According to the weatherman it’s supposed to get humid this afternoon with a chance of thunderstorms. Glad I hung my clothes out to dry yesterday. There’s something about the scent of air-dried fabric, so crisp and fresh. Mmmm. Big inhale. Ack! Bad idea! Allergy Alert! Allergy Alert! Excuse me a minute while I grab my inhaler.

(Holding)

Okay, crisis averted. I can breathe again. I’m not sure what kind of pollen it was but something triggered an attack. I hate Asthma! My lungs get tight, I wheeze, and I feel like I’m suffocating. Bless whoever developed those emergency inhalers!

The birds are singing outside. Sparrows, robins, blue jays, wrens, red-winged blackbirds, catbirds, and crows. They make quite a racket. I just heard a red-tail hawk screech overhead. A downy woodpecker just started rat-a-tat-tatting on the metal arm holding the street lamp to the wooden pole. It does this at least once a week.

My peonie bush is getting fat buds. Another couple of weeks and it’ll be laden with beautiful cream and pink flowers. I love the scent of peonies, so rich and fragrant. I’ve learned the hard way to give any blooms I cut a thorough shaking before I bring them inside the house. The ants love peonies and I don’t want any hitchhikers! I just got rid of the last batch of invading insects! I bought some D-Con Ant baits and put them on my kitchen counter, two weeks later and no more ants! I need to get out my fly swatter, there’s a nasty black wasp buzzing around my head. Excuse me.

(Holding)

Swat! Okay, I can relax again. I’m mildly allergic to their sting. I hate scratchy itchy hives! Finally! There goes the alarm. Time’s up!

Emily

*******************************************************************************************
In response to Writing 101, Day One: Unlock The Mind
http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_assignment/writing-101-day-one/

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

