Skip to content

Some Of The Younger Generation Do Have Good Manners

May 11, 2014

pad2014-sWhen was the last time a stranger did something particularly kind, generous, or selfless for you? Tell us what happened!

Manners seem to be in short supply these days, especially among the younger generation. Everyone is always hustling about or engrossed by a high-tech device. Rudeness has become the new norm, so I am always pleased to encounter evidence to the contrary.

The mot recent example of the kindness of a stranger in my life happened a mere three days ago on Thursday. I was shopping at the Wal-mart in Cortland. I was in the pet supplies section reaching for a bag of cat litter. For some reason known only to the people who stock the shelves the specific brand I typically purchase is always on the top shelf. I am short, barely 5’4″ tall. The only bags of my brand left on the shelf had originally been in the second row back. Which meant for me, that if I stood on my tiptoes and stretched my arms as far as I could that the end of said bags were just within reach. A young twenty something man was walking by with his cart. He looked tough, being tattooed, studded with numerous piercings, and dressed in grungy clothing. He spoke in a pleasant voice, “Let me help you ma’am.” He stood over six feet tall and so he had no trouble at all reaching the litter. “How many bags would you like?”

“Two more please.” When he had placed the last one in my cart I gave him my very best smile and said, “Thank you very much!” He blushed slightly and we went our separate ways. It just proves that you shouldn’t judge others based on their appearance alone. Bless you young man!

Emily

***********************************************************************************************
In response to The Kindness of Strangers
http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/the-kindness-of-strangers/

16 Comments
  1. That was very nice of him!

  2. I’m sorry you are surprised that the younger generation is “mannered.” I raised my children to “pay it forward” and both are surrounded by friends who are as polite and considerate to others as my 2 are. IMO raising children to be responsible adults who felt a sense of duty to assist those who needed it is the role of a parent.
    Now if I can just get them to mind their manners at home 😉

    • emilykarn permalink

      Congratulations, keep up the good job. It just seems to me that there is a lot more rudeness in the world now than when I was younger. Maybe it’s because I hit the big 50 this year? Have I become one of those people (a grumpy fuddy-duddy)? I hope not, but time will tell.

      • Lol – hit that mark a couple years ago and feel better than I have since my 20’s. My friends and I love our 50’s – once we get over the initial “shock and awe” of the number 🙂

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Kindness In Small Amounts | Prairie Views
  2. The UNkindness of Strangers | lynnesartandsoul
  3. The Kindness of Strangers | My Atheist Blog
  4. Little Pepinas… | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am
  5. Daily Prompt: The Kindness of Strangers? | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  6. The Kindness of Strangers: My Teachers (Daily Prompt) | Understanding and Embracing Diversity
  7. Daily prompt – Kindness | The Wandering Poet
  8. DAILY PROMPT: The Kindness of Strangers | Nola Roots, Texas Heart
  9. The Umbrella Girl – A Kind Stranger | olivia in la la land
  10. To my fellow Commuters | Mayur Wadhwani's Blog
  11. Poem / Poetry – “Give Me A Little Danger of My Own, Stranger” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

