Skip to content

Duck Demons

April 22, 2014

Sleep is a marvelous thing. When you sleep you can drift away, escaping the cares of the day. You can dream of fantastic things, recharging your body, mind, and spirit. We take it for granted and never realize just how precious it is, until we can’t get any.

I haven’t had a solid night’s sleep in over six months. The quality of my life has been significantly altered. I drag around all day long, it seems like I’m wading through knee-deep quicksand. I’m snappish and can’t concentrate. Everytime I start to doze off, a wave of panic sweeps over me and I wake up screaming. My mother always told me that there were no monsters in the dark. She was… wrong! I can see them. Their beady yellow eyes glare menacingly at me.

Whenever I close my eyes I can feel them watching me. They creep closer every night, soon they’ll be able to touch me. I don’t know what will happen then, but I know that it won’t be… good. I’ve tried talking to my family and friends, but none of them believe me! I feel so isolated. I thought that I was crazy at first, the monsters are… duck demons!

Weeks ago I went to see a psychiatristand told him about my problems. He diagnosed me as having night terrors and gave me some prescriptions that were supposed to clear my mind. I took them, but the drugs didn’t help one teeny bit, in fact they just made things…worse, a lot worse! They trapped me so that the ducks almost got me!

I can hear the ducks breathing now. They pant heavily, gusting their steaming hot exhalations into my face. They quack, a high-pitched frequency, screeching like fingernails running down a chalkboard. I smell their stench, reeking of carrion and death. The nape of my neck prickles with revulsion, shivers tingle up and down my spine. Their dark red feathers bristle angrily. Their maws are filled with triple rows of needle sharp, narrow teeth, gleaming whitely against their black tongues. They slobber and drool as they stare at me. They lick their beaks hungrily as they inch ever nearer. I drive them back, shuddering in fear. I want to run but there’s no escape!

I tried creating weapons and attacking the ducks. It didn’t work. No matter how I sliced, diced, and fried them they just kept… coming back. They want something from me. I can feel their demand, beating constantly against my will. It even follows me into the waking world now.

I couldn’t resist any longer. Last night I surrendered and let them engulf me. Why did I fight them so long? It is so peaceful now. A singular purpose fills my being. All conflict is gone. I exist only to do their will.

I raise the automatic and begin shooting. My psychiatrist is the first to die, we can’t let him stop us. We laugh out loud, killing the humans. The slaughter is glorious!

Emily

*******************************************************************************************
499 Words in response to Finish That Thought #42, 500 word limit, mandatory first sentence, Special Challenge: Ducks. Just… ducks.

http://alissaleonard.blogspot.com/2014/04/finish-that-thought-42.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+MusingsOfAlissaLeonard+%28Musings+of+Alissa+Leonard%29

One Comment
  1. that gave me the chills… I can relate to the not getting much sleep part lol very well written

Leave a Reply

