Skip to content

To Dylan Thomas

March 24, 2014

Do not go gentle into that good night,
Old age should burn and rave at the close of day;
rage, rage against the dying of the light.

“Do not go gentle into that good night” Dylan Thomas

To Dylan Thomas
I fight, I fight and savor the light
Watching the film Back to School
Almost twenty-eight years ago
I first heard your poem voiced
“Do not go gentle into that good night”
It has remained with me all this time
You gave voice to the emotions
Buried deeply within my heart
The need to strive and fight
I never give up, the battle rages on
I fight, I fight and savor the light
Whatever happens in my life
Whenever I feel down and out
I pick myself up  anmd start over again
I fight, I fight and savor the light.

Emily
***************************************************************************************************
In response to Poetry Prompt # 3 – I Have To Tell You
Write a response to a poem that touched you.
http://wedrinkbecausewerepoets.com/2014/03/24/poetry-prompt-3-i-have-to-tell-you/

From → Challenges, Poetry

3 Comments
  1. Brilliant tribute – Dylan Thomas would be honored. 🙂

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Poetre Prompt #3 – Results | We Drink Because We're Poets

Leave a Reply

