Skip to content

Drops of Sorrow

March 2, 2014

A song comes on the radio and instantly, you’re transported to a different time and place. Which song(s) bring back memories for you and why? Be sure to mention the song, and describe the memory it evokes.

Now that she’s back in the atmosphere
With drops of Jupiter in her hair, hey, hey, hey
She acts like summer and walks like rain
Reminds me that there’s a time to change, hey, hey, hey
Since the return from her stay on the moon
She listens like spring and she talks like June, hey, hey, hey
Hey, hey, hey

But tell me, did you sail across the sun?
Did you make it to the Milky Way to see the lights all faded
And that heaven is overrated?

Drops of Jupiter by Train

September 11, 2001

Train’s song Drops of Jupiter was playing on my favorite radio station when they broke in with the news of the first plane hitting the World Trade Center. Benumbed I immediately switched on the tv and watched the subsequent events with a sense disbelief. I watched in terror as the second plane struck. With horror I watched the towers crumble and fall. I cried in sorrow as I followed the mounting death toll. Learning that they were not accidents, but deliberate acts of terror forever changed the way I viewed the world. I lost my sense of security. It sank in that terrorists are willing to kill anyone, anywhere, anytime. The violence of their actions filled me with rage. Every time I hear the song I’m thrown back to that moment and tears fill my eyes. For me it will always be the saddest song that can be played. Emily
********************************************************************************************************
In response to daily Prompt: Always Something There To Remind Me
http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/02/prompt-remind-me/

For full lyrics go to:
http://www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/train/dropsofjupiter.html

Leave a Reply

