Skip to content

Mall Stampede

February 26, 2014

What is the best dream you’ve ever had? Recount it for us in all its ethereal glory. If no dream stands out in your memory, recount your worst nightmare. Leave no frightening detail out.

I don’t remember most of my dreams. I did have a nightmare the other night that stuck in my head. It started from a true life experience. The cows have gotten out and I’m chasing them. I’m crashing through a corn field in the dark. The corn is taller than I am. The leaves slap me in the face. The corn rustles and crunches. It is late summer. Insects hum and chir as I disturb them. Sweat rolls down my body from the humidity. The moon is only half full, the dim flashlight doesn’t illuminate much. I stumble over roots and stones. The only way to track the cows is by the noise they make and the broken stalks they leave behind. It is very eerie.

Then it takes a wild turn from reality into fantasy. Suddenly we’re in the middle of a huge mall filled with people. They panic, people begin to shout and run. The cows stampede, it is chaos. Their hooves thunder on the concrete as they crash through the mall. One cow breaks into a display window. A frilly dress gets snagged on her horn. She bellows and charges out. Expensive cars are on display on the mall floor. They cows bang into them crushing metal, and glass. Alarms begin to go off. People are screaming and diving for cover. Blood flows as several get gored and trampled. There is a giant pyramid of champagne glasses in the middle of the food court. The cows smash into it. Crystal shatters, shards fly everywhere, cutting and slicing. One customer gets butted over the counter into a hot vat of frying oil. He screams in agony as his flesh begins to burn. Two mall security guards start shooting at the cows. I’m running as fast as I can but the cows are easily outdistancing me. A group of military men appear. Grenades explode and machine guns stutter. Several cows are hit, their guts go flying all over. Smoke and fire fill the mall. The sprinklers go off. Water is pouring down, drenching everything. Blood and body parts are everywhere. One of the cows pivots and charges straight for me. Terror fills my soul. I can see the whites of her eyes and feel her hot breath as she barrels down on me. I try to run, but I’m stuck in slow motion, moving like I was wading through molasses. Her head goes down and she aims for my stomach. Just then, I thankfully woke up. I was gasping for breath and my heart was pounding in my chest.

Emily

**********************************************************************************************************
In response to Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams.
http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/02/26/daily-prompt-sweet-dreams/

Leave a Reply

