Skip to content

The Gateway

February 4, 2014

Challenge question 2: What if you discovered a lost civilization?

It happened accidentally, as many great discoveries do. My Siamese cat, Mr. Sneaky, managed to escape from my trailer yet again. I chased into the woods after him. He led me to the oldest part of the forest, a section little traveled because of all the briars and brambles. I pushed through the tangle in hot pursuit. We broke into a small clearing ringed by toadstools. My clothing was torn where the sharp thorns had snagged it. A slight mound stood in the center of the glade. Mr. Sneaky crouched at the base, staring fixedly at the center. I called to him, but he refused to budge. Sighing deeply I stepped forward and scooped him up in my arms. “You are in so much trouble cat!” I scolded him. “Just wait until we get home, no treats for you today!” A trickle of blood ran down my left arm from my sliced skin. I saw it splatter on the moss-covered ground. Mr. Sneaky suddenly bristled and hissed in my arms. The sound of the blood droplets hitting the soil was like a large kettle drum beating. “BOOM! BOOM! BOOM!” I swayed as a wave of dizziness swept over me. My vision blurred and there was a strange metallic taste in my mouth. Even though it was too early for anything to be blooming, the air filled with a fragrance composed of thousands of flowers. A tiny spark ignited in midair. It expanded into a large shimmering mirrored circle. It hovered several inches above the mound. The surface rippled like water.

A honey-sweet voice that chimed like small silver bells spoke. “Come.” It said. Driven by a compulsion I could not resist I stepped forward. A tingle of electricity ran through my body. I was swept by alternating waves of heat and chill. The circle swallowed us. Mr. Sneaky dug his claws deep into my flesh. Everything swooped and spun like some demented carnival ride. I staggered and dropped to my knees still clutching Mr. Sneaky. He began to purr frantically like a small engine.

The melodious voice spoke again. “Welcome to Our Court, We are the Prince of the Sidhe.” My vision cleared and I realized that I knelt in the center of a floor covered in golden marble tiles in a glorious room. Tall and willowy, figures with tightly nipped-in waists surrounded me. They had pointed ears and cat-shaped eyes. They were pale skinned figures of heartbreaking beauty. Their long, lustrous locks of hair were a riot of colors: pinks, purples, blues, oranges, yellows, reds, and greens; in hues ranging from pastels to neons. Their fabulous clothing dripped with jewels. “It has been a long time since We last had one of your kind amongst Us.” The figure seated on the glittering throne with a sparkling diadem on his head said.

Something about that word rang a faint alarm bell in the back of my mind. “She?” I asked uncertainly.

“You know us better as Fairies.” The Prince replied. The bell became a chorus of sirens.

“But I thought that Fairies were a myth.” I said weakly.

“That is what we wished you to think.” He smiled toothily at me and at that moment I knew that my life had forever changed. He continued. “There is a reason We became Lost to the Realm of Humanity. I am afraid that we can not allow any knowledge of our existence to escape.” He gestured and the armoured guards pointed their weapons at me.

I gulped. “I swear I won’t tell a soul.” I quavered, knees trembling.

“We know all too well the value of a Man’s word. There is no choice. You will be Our guest. Permanently. Mage, remove the Gateway.” With a quiet pop, the circle behind me disappeared.

Emily

***********************************************************************************************************
In response to Okay, What If? Febuary What If writing Challenge Two-fer
http://okaywhatif.com/2014/02/03/febuary-what-if-writing-challenge-two-fer/

3 Comments
  1. Is anyone going to be looking for you? Can the Fairies really keep you trapped forever? I need to know what happens next.

    Fun story, thanks for linking up with the challenge.

    • emilykarn permalink

      Her family isn’t close and they all live out of state. She is currently unemployed. No one will be looking for her until the end of next month when the rental company serves an eviction notice on her trailer. The Faries have Very powerful Magic and Can keep her trapped indefinitely. The rest of the story hasn’t written itself yet. Thank you very much. I had a lot of fun writting it. Emily

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Results on the February What if? writing challenge | Okay, What if ?

Leave a Reply

