Skip to content

When Superheroes Collide

February 1, 2014
Blue Cyclone and Speed Demon

Blue Cyclone and Speed Demon

This week’s challenge: have your characters speak almost entirely in catchphrases – genre must either be fantasy or sci-fi.

The Blue Cyclone: He was eating a candy bar and as he walked down the street. A strange tingle went through his body. He started singing. “Macho, macho, man, I wanna be a macho man.” He turned the corner and slammed into anther pedestrian. “You got your peanut butter in my chocolate!” He yelled.

Speed Demon: “You got your chocolate in my peanut butter!” Heshouted and  took a bite. A huge grin flashed over his face. “I can’t believe it’s not butter!”

The Blue Cyclone: “Play it again, Sam. It’s not nice to fool Mother Nature!”

Speed Demon: “Elementary, my dear Watson. Where’s the beef?”

The Blue Cyclone: “Real men don’t eat Quiché.” They laughed and shook hands.

Speed Demon: “Does my bum look big in this?” He pointed at his costume.

The Blue Cyclone: “You talkin to me?”

 They were hit by a jolt of electricity. Speed Demon: “Only you can prevent forest fires. Who let the dogs out?”

The villianous Big Daddy: “Exterminate! Exterminate! Take me to your leader! Big Brother is watching you!” He screamed, lowering his Catch Phrase Gun.

The Blue Cyclone: “Who you gonna call? Ghostbusters! I love the smell of napalm in the morning! I’m going to make him an offer he can’t refuse!You’ve got to ask yourself one question: Do I feel lucky? Well, do you punk?”

Big Daddy: “Frankly, my dear, I don’t give a damn!”

Speed Demon: “Is that your final answer? Go ahead, make my day!” The two Superheroes exchanged glances. “One for all, and all for one! It’s Clobbering Time!” Four fists struck in unison. Big Daddy flew through the air, crashed against a building, and landed in a heap on the ground.

The Blue Cyclone: “Watch out for that tree! Are we having fun yet? HULK SMASH! You are the Weakest Link! Goodbye.”

Speed Demon: “So easy, even a caveman can do it. Who’s your daddy now, bitch!”

Big Daddy: “I’ll be back.” Weakly.

The  Blue Cyclone: “Hasta la vista, baby!” He punched Big Daddy out.

Speed Demon: “There can be only one!” Together they stomped down hard on the Catch Phrase Gun, releasing themselves from its influence.

Emily

*******************************************************************************************
In response to We Drink Inspiration Short Story #009-Catching Phrases
http://wedrinkbecausewerepoets.com/2014/01/31/we-drink-inspiration-009-catching-phrases/

SOURCE MATERIAL 

  • “The Blue Cyclone”: song, The Ballad of the Blue Cyclone, Ray Stevens
  • “Macho, macho man, I wanna be a macho man.”: song, Macho Man, The Village People
  • “You got your peanut butter in my chocolate!”:  tv commercials, Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups
  • “Speed Demom”: Marvel comics,  Speed Demon
  • “You got your chocolate in my peanut butter!”: tv commercials, Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups
  • “I can’t believe it’s not butter!”: tv commercial, I Can’t Believe it’s not Butter! margarine
  • “Play it again, Sam.”: movie, Casa Blanca
  • “It’s not nice to fool  Mother Nature”: tv commercials, Chiffon margarine
  • “Elementary, my dear Watson.”: movies, Sherlock Holmes
  • “Where’s the beef?”: tv commercials, Wendy’s
  • “Real men don’t eat quiche”: book, Real Men Don’t Eat Quiche, Bruce Feirstein
  • “Does my bum look big in this?”: tv show, The Fast Show
  • “You talking to me?”: movie, Taxi Driver
  • “Only you can prevent forest fires.”: PSAs, Smokey Bear
  • “Who let the dogs out?”: song, Who Let the Dogs Out?, The Baha Men
  • “Big Daddy”: play, Cat on a Hot Tin Roof
  • “Exterminate! Exterminate!”: tv show, Doctor Who: Daleks
  • “Take me to your leader”: cartoons, Extraterrestrial aliens
  • “Big Brother is watching you”:  book, 1984
  • “Who you gonna call? Ghostbusters!”: movie, Ghostbusters
  • “I love the smell of napalm in the morning”: movie, Apocalypse Now
  • “I’m going to make him an offer he can’t refuse”: movie, The Godfather
  • “You’ve got to ask yourself one question: Do I feel lucky? Well, do you punk?”:  movie, Dirty Harry
  • “Frankly my dear, I don’t give a damn”: movie, Gone With The Wind
  • “Is that your final answer?”: tv show, Who Wants to be a Millionaire?
  • “Go ahead, make my day’: movie, Sudden Impact
  • “One for all, and all for one”: book,  The Three Musketeers, Alexandre Dumas
  • “It’s Clobbering Time!”: Marvel comics, The Fantastic Four
  • “Watch out for that tree”: tv show and movie, George of the Jungle
  • “Are we having fun yet?”: comics, Zippy
  • “HULK SMASH!”: Marvel  comics, tv shows, and movies, The Hulk
  • “You are the Weakest Link, Goodbye!”:  tv show, Weakest Link
  • “So easy, even a caveman can do it”: tv commercials, Geico Auto Insurance
  • “Who’s your daddy now, bitch!”:  movie, Snakes on a Plane
  • “I’ll be back.”: movie, The Terminator
  • “Hasta la vista, baby!”: movie, Terminator 2: Judgement Day
  • “There can only be one!”: movies and tv show, Highlander
7 Comments
  1. Highlander reference FTW!!!

    LMAO!!! ❤

    • emilykarn permalink

      🙂 Thank you, I just Had to throw it in.

  2. Hah! Nicely done. 🙂

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. We Drink Inspiration #009 – Results!! | We Drink Because We're Poets

Leave a Reply

