Skip to content

Cliffhanger! Part 2: Cold Refuge

January 7, 2014

For this week’s challenge, write a post that will leave readers waiting for more. Breathless with anticipation. On the edge of the seats. Obsessively clicking “refresh”, waiting impatiently for the end of the story. We want to hear audible groans when the readers reach the end of your post ans see “To be continued…” Bonus points also available for anyone else who manages to work Sylvester Stallone into their post.

COLD REFUGE

Simon paused to sip some water from the glass on the desk in front of him, then continued his narrative. “Stop that leak!” I shouted to the other cadets.  “I’m D’Zayre.” I said to the burly cadet helping me.

“GrelVuk” He grunted in return.

We were spiraling deeper into the asteroid field, getting pelted by ever larger rocks. “Help me move these bodies, I’ve got to get control of the shuttle!” We pulled them out of the way and I took the controls.

“I just finished the Flight Simulator Class!” One of the other cadets objected.

“I have two years practical experience.” I told him. “We don’t have time to argue, you can copilot.”

“Okay.” We slid into the seats and wrestled with the manual controls. It took our combined strength, but we finally got the shuttle stabilized. It was when I tried to signal for help that I learned that the explosion had taken out our communications, emergency beacon, and all the automatic controls.

“How’s that leak coming?” I yelled to the others.

“We’ve managed to seal it but we are dangerously low on oxygen.” GrelVuk replied.

“We’re also almost out of fuel. Check to see if this shuttle carries emergency energy and oxygen converters in the back.”

“Yes, we have them.”

I accessed the Guard channel on the suit coms. “This is Cadet Simon D’Zayre, listen up everyone. The flight crew is dead, I’m in command of the shuttle now. Our situation is desperate, we are very low on oxygen and fuel. The emergency beacon, communications, and automatic controls were all destroyed by the explosion. We’re on our own.”

“Won’t the rescue team find us soon?” One cadet asked nervously.

“I’m afraid not, as far as I can tell we are way off of our original course.”

“What can we do?”

“We are at the edge of an asteroid field with raw materials all around us. It is just a matter of retrieving it. Everyone strap in tight, it’s going to be a bumpy ride.”

I located our target, a large chunk of ice floating nearby. Using the attitude jets I got us into position. Gently I bumped into the surface of the asteroid. “Fire grapples!” I ordered.

To be continued…

*******************************************************************************************************
Excerpt from SPACE CADET by Emily Karn.
In response to Weekly Writing Challenge: Cliffhanger! Emily
Cliffhanger Part 1: Disaster In Space can be found at:
https://emilykarn.wordpress.com/2014/01/06/cliffhanger-part-1-disaster-in-space/

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/01/06/weekly-writing-challenge-cliffhanger/

Leave a Reply

