Skip to content

Emily’s December 23rd

December 23, 2013
Christmas gifts.

Christmas gifts. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

First, we want you to go back through time, to the December 23rd of past years-one year past, five years, ten, twenty; it’s up to you. Where were you on those days? Who were you with? What was happening in your life? What were you excited about, or worried about? What was next for you? What were you wearing? (What? Maybe that last one isn’t a deep question, but it’s an interesting one.)

I do the same thing every December 23rd. I spend it home alone and I always wear my most comfortable, loosest fitting outfit. I’m excited about tomorrow. My family exchanges gifts on Christmas Eve. So it is time for the Annual Wrapping of the Presents Battle. I have to deal with the following challenges.

  • 1. The Presents (which are always oddly shaped and awkward, often with sharp edges).
  • 2. The Wrapping Paper (which always likes to tear jaggedly and never wants to fold neatly).
  • 3. The Tape (which never wants to dispense easily or in long strips).
  • 4. The Scissors (which always need sharpening and never cut straight).
  • 5. The Ribbons (which always gets tangled and won’t make nice even bows).
  • 6. The Tags (which never want to stick to anything except my clothing).
  • 7. The Glitter Pen (which never wants to write, or leaves big blobs all over).
  • 8. The Cat(s) (who always want to “help” and get fur everywhere).

Presents finally Conquered, it is time to gather the items for my dish-to-pass and prepare it. Last year I wimped out and took the relish tray. I bought a bottle of sweet pickles, one of dill pickles, and one of olives. Then I simply bagged them up. It was the easiest one I’ve ever done by far.

I had even more fun today. I had to go to the Eye Doctor’s, that ate up a three-hour chunk of my day. They put in the drops that dilate your eyes and my vision was blurry for three more hours. Luckily, this year I got everyone gift cards. I only had to put them in the proper envelopes, write the names, and seal them! I’m taking the relish tray again this year which is already packed, so I’m all set. Whew! I’m going to collapse and rest now. Emily

************************************************************************************************
In response to: Weekly Writing Challenge: Ghosts Of December 23rds Past.

8 Comments
  1. Glad you got all of that out of the way. I still have to wrap my daughters last present… Develop pictures of her from Easter (yes i know… Im a little behind)… Put developed pictures in the frames she painted for everyone… put said frames in gift bags… write a note… send out holiday/new years cards… and bake something to bring to my moms on christmas….

    I probably should get on that huh?
    =)

  2. I really enjoy your postings, very nice!

    One of my past times is researching my family’s history. One year I found the following poem, “Christmas Day”. It reminds me of loved ones, past and present. Some have gone on and some are just absent. I think of ancestors who I have pictures of but never met.
    I don’t think of them in a sad way, but a warm comforting feeling in their remembrance.

    And when Christmas Day is almost done
    When they all grow sleepy one by one,
    I shall sit alone by the fire and see
    Ghosts of you come close to me.
    For the dead and the absent always stay
    With the ones they love on Christmas Day.

    Aline Kilmer

  3. I’m really inspired along with your writing talents and also with the structure for your blog. Is that this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Either way stay up the nice quality writing, it is rare to look a great weblog like this one today..|

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Weekly Writing Challenge: Ghosts of Years Past | A mom's blog
  2. of ferocity « Anawnimiss
  3. {Weekly Writing Challenge} Ghosts of Christmas Past… | 3rdculturechildren
  4. Weekly Writing Challenge – Ghosts of December 23rds Past | Joe's Musings

Leave a Reply

