Skip to content

The Companion

November 20, 2013
Mistress Liliane Hunt

Mistress Liliane Hunt (Photo credit: davidyuweb)

I took my first Companion’s job when I had just turned sixteen. Legally this is the youngest age allowed for doing my kind of work. I was always beautiful, first as a baby, then as a young girl, and I became a gorgeous woman. My mother was determined to train me from my earliest days in my Trade. I learned all the necessary things: Beauty, Conversation, Cooking, Presentation, Biology, Chemistry, Geography, Psychology, Health, History, Housekeeping, Bookkeeping, Gardening, Manners, Deportment, Current Events, Industry, Languages, and Popular Culture. By the time I was finished I was the equivalent of a University Graduate.

My first client was a sweet and tender elderly gentleman. I quickly became both famous and wildly popular. I had men vying for my attentions and earned a magnificent salary. I catered to their every whim and need. My Appointment Book soon read like a “Who’s Who” of the rich and famous. I followed all the Government rules and regulations. I was a good citizen and paid all of my taxes promptly and in full. I was lucky, I never got sick nor was I ever beaten up. I did the work but I never really enjoyed it. I was happy when I came to the age of retirement. I put in my thirty years and that was enough for me. The Company gave me a gold watch at the party and thanked me for my many years of faithful service. Now I’m writing my memoirs. “Companion” it sounds so much nicer than “Mistress”.

************************************************************************************************
232 Words in response to Trifecta: Week 104, 33 to 333 words. companion: noun 3 a: one that is closely connected with something similar. b: one employed to live with and serve another. Emily

2 Comments
  1. Great work! I was just skimming through my blog roll when I saw your opening line. It made me stop and go “wait, what?” Those are some memoirs I’d definitely be interested in reading.

Leave a Reply

