Skip to content

The Scariest Thing

October 6, 2013
Chilton taunts Lecter in The Silence of the Lambs.

Chilton taunts Lecter in The Silence of the Lambs. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The scariest thing I have ever experienced was a horror movie. I Love Horror movies. I have a sick fascination for their blood and gore. If it has ghosts, vampires, werewolves, zombies, monsters, mummy’s, or slashers I am there. From the campy to the creepy I watch them. I have a particular fondness for Creature Features.

I can happily sit through a marathon of the Halloween or Friday The 13th series. My all time favorites are: Jason X, the one where he winds up on the spaceship; and Halloween H20 where Michael comes after his sister twenty years later. I have watched: The Hills Have Eyes, Rest Stop, A Nightmare On Elm Street, My Bloody Valentine, 13 Ghosts, Resident Evil, Aliens, Predators, The Mummy, Alien Versus Predator, Anaconda, The Astronauts’ Wife, An American WereWolf in Paris, Blade, Buffy The Vampire Slayer, Bugs,Godzilla, Critters,The Thing, Dawn of the Dead, and many more . Texas Chainsaw Massacre, Saw, and Hostel, bring it on!

I think the main reason I enjoy them so much is that I KNOW that they aren’t real. I’ve never been scared by any of them, EXCEPT for one. It’s not the bloodiest, or the most gruesome, but it seriously freaked me out! The night after I watched it I had to leave my light on all night long. and have my radio playing because I kept jumping at every little creak and groan! I’m speaking of that gem The Silence of The Lambs. The actor Anthony Hopkins, who played Hannibal Lector was so chillingly creepy and believable that he terrified me! I watched this movie over twenty years ago, but its impact still lingers in my mind. The combination of the music, the acting, and the cinematography left an indelible impression. Emily

*********************************************************************************************
In response to WHAT IF YOU SCARED ME?

From → Challenges, Memories

3 Comments
  1. I love every single movie you listed! I always get so excited when I find someone else who loves horror like I do.
    As writers of course we want to make people feel something when they read our work. So one of the things that has always fascinated me about horror especially is it’s ability to make people feel fear so strongly – like to the point where you’re leaving lights on and checking under the bed when it’s all over.
    Thanks for the pingback! Happy Halloween!

    • emilykarn permalink

      The list is far from complete. I enjoyed your post. I’ve seen and enjoyed almost all of the 31 that you listed, the rest are on my bucket list. I agree that sometimes there’s nothing like a good scare. I wouldn’t go near the water (even though it was a fresh water lake) for several weeks after watching Jaws!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. TOP BEST CINEMA

Leave a Reply

