Skip to content

Name That… You!: Emily

September 3, 2013
Emily-dickinson oval

Emily-dickinson oval (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Do you know the meaning of your name and why your parents chose it? Do you think it suits you? What about your children’s names?

I am Emily. Before I read this prompt I never bothered to discover what my name meant. I looked it up today. Emily is a variation of Amelia. It means industrious, ambitious, and according to one source artistic. I am artistic on occasion and sometimes industrious and ambitious, so it is a suitable name. When I was a teenager I asked my mother how she chose my name since it wasn’t in the family. She replied that she saw a book by the author Emily Bronte (Wuthering Heights) and liked the name. She could have chosen something worse. There have been several other famous Emily’s, among them Carr (Canadian painter); Dickinson (poet); Post (etiquette expert); and Kaye-Smith (British novelist). It was rare when I was little but is quite common now. The strangest variation of the spelling I have run across is E-M-M-A-L-E-I-G-H. Emily

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/09/02/daily-prompt-identity/

Related articles

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

