Skip to content

Memories For Sale: The Candy Dish

May 16, 2013
The Candy Dish

The Candy Dish

On a weekend road trip, far away from home, you stumble upon a garage sale in a neighborhood you’re passing through. astonished, you find an objectamong the belongings for sale that you recognize. tell us about it.

When I read this inspiration I couldn’t resist it. In my case I don’t have to imagine this, it actually happened. About twenty years ago I was at a yard sale when I saw it. It was the Candy Dish! The Candy Dish sat on my grandmother’s buffet for every major holiday dinner. The entire family would gather for a huge feast. When we were done it was time for the Candy Dish. It is six-and-a-half inches tall and six-and-a-half inches in diameter. It is hexagonal, with a matching lid. It is made of plain, dark-emerald green glass . It was always an adventure to gently lift the lid and see what kind of treats it held. Would it be Hershey’s Kisses, Gumdrops, Peppermint Patties, Ribbon Candy, or Crystalized Ginger? By the time I found it both of my Grandparents and my Father were dead. The Candy Dish brought back memories of happier times. I picked it up and checked the price tag. Seventy-five cents! I bought it on the spot and would have gladly paid more. It has pride of place on my pass-through. Every time I see it I am reminded of my childhood. Emily

*****************************************************************************************************
In response to Daily Post: Memories For Sale
http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/05/16/daily-prompt-sale/

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

