Skip to content

A Lazy Wind

May 13, 2013

 

Coldest Wind

Coldest Wind (Photo credit: farfromthepicture)

What you may wonder, is a lazy wind? It is a phrase I picked up from my Grandmother Karn. A lazy wind can’t be bothered to go around you, it cuts through you. The weather today and yesterday is more like March than May. I went to get my mail around 1 pm today. The thermometer read 46 degrees. I was wearing a pair of sweatpants, a turtleneck, and a sweatshirt. Normally this would have been plenty. I stepped outside and the wind cut into me. I turned around and went back inside. I dug out my winter coat, my gloves, and my hat from my closet. I put them on and returned to my errand. I saw two of my neighbors outside. They were both decked out in their winter togs also. It hailed for about ten minutes last night. Tonight it is there is a chance of frost as the temperature may drop down into the twenties. “Brrrr!” I turned my furnace on yesterday. Whenever I sit down I have a furry cat blanket on my lap. Bandit likes to sleep on top of my ankles. She weighs 13 pounds. After 15 minutes I have to dump her off and get back my circulation. I think I shall make some hot chocolate later. I consider it the perfect cold weather drink. Emily

4 Comments
  1. I woke up with a headache and looked outside and it’s snowing!

    • emilykarn permalink

      I also woke up to snow, thankfully without the headache. I hope you feel better soon, headaches are the pits!

  2. Such a nice read – I also have a cat blanket (or two) around here. Thank you for linking to my post!

Leave a Reply

