Skip to content

Dandelions and a Butterfly

April 27, 2013
Common Roadside Skipper

Common Roadside Skipper (Photo credit: Gordilly)

When I went to get the mail today, I saw that the dandelions had popped open  on several lawns. I was on my way back to the trailer when I saw my first butterfly of the season. If it hadn’t flown right in front of me I would have never seen it. It was only an inch long, and it was a very drab brown with  a few small, white wing spots. I had to consult my copy of “National Audubon Society Pocket Guide: Familiar Butterflies of North America” to figure out what kind of butterfly it was. I was able to narrow it down to a group called Roadside Skippers .

I also did some cooking. I prepared Cheesy Summer Squash Casserole and Pork with Smoked Paprika Sauce. Both recipes were from a “Betty Crocker Cookbook”. I didn’t care for the Cheddar Cheese in the squash casserole. The Smoked Paprika Sauce  was excellent! The smoking process gives the paprika a nutty, earthy tang. I think that the sauce would also go well with beef.

It over 70 degrees today. I have several windows open. The cats are sprawled in front of the storm door, watching the neighbors kids and dogs playing outside. The smallest dog got loose and came up onto my deck. It barked at the cats. They hissed at it and then my neighbor reclaimed the dog. Emily

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

