Skip to content

A Cat Who Plays Fetch

April 21, 2013
Fetch

Fetch (Photo credit: ibm4381)

I know, it sounds incredible. I was astonished the first time I saw Bandit do it. The encounter yesterday with the stink bug has left her feeling frisky. If you’re interested you can read my previous post A Living Toy. Earlier today I heard a polite little “Meow”. I looked down, Bandit sat beside my chair, her favorite stuffed mouse on the floor beside her. This is her signal to me that she wants to play Fetch. I reached down, grabbed the mouse, and tossed it down the hallway. She charged after it. Reaching the toy she batted it around several times, then picked it up in her mouth and carried it back to me. She doesn’t bring it directly to my hand, that would be too undignified for a Superior Being (i.e. cat). She dropped it on the floor within reach and we repeated the exercise.  She did this five more times before she signaled me that the game was over. She did that by flopping down next to the toy and taking a well deserved nap. Selleck is puzzled by this strange behavior. He sits at the far end of the hallway. He watches every move with his head cocked to one side, but doesn’t attempt to join in. Emily

From → Cats, Daily life

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

