Skip to content

The Pussy Willows Are Out

April 19, 2013
English: Pussy willow from Turku Finland. Suom...

English: Pussy willow from Turku Finland. Suomi: Pajunkissa Turusta. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Montezuma Wildlife Refuge

Montezuma Wildlife Refuge (Photo credit: CAHairyBear)

English: forsythia x intermedia, bush with flo...

English: forsythia x intermedia, bush with flowers & buds Français : forsythia x intermedia, buisson fleuri et boutons (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

A Great Blue Heron in Montezuma National Wildl...

A Great Blue Heron in Montezuma National Wildlife Refuge, Finger Lakes, New York State, USA. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I love the soft, gray catkins of the Pussy Willow bushes. I always cut several branches every year and put them in a vase of water on my kitchen counter. The Forsythia bushes along the creek bank behind my trailer are starting to open. Today I could see the small, yellow flowers peeking out. In several days they will be a glorious splash of color. It’s windy today, but nice and warm. The temperature got over seventy degrees. I opened one of my windows. the cats both sat underneath it, inhaling all the fascinating scents. The willow tree in the front yard is starting to leaf out.

I said on my About page that I live in the Finger Lakes Region of New York State in the USA. It’s an area known for scenic attractions. The many lakes and a number of gorges and waterfalls, many registered parks. We also are an agricultural area. We have both a local Wine Trail and a Cheese Trail. I live in a fairly rural area so there is a lot of local wildlife to see. I’m not far from the Montezuma National Wild Life Refuge where you can find a number of migrating birds at different times of the year. If you are interested more information can be found on “Wikipedia” by entering: “Finger Lakes” and “Montezuma  National  Wildlife  Refuge”. Emily

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

